SCAS News - 26 September, 2014

The Four New Pro Futura Scientia Fellows Received Their Diplomas during a Ceremony at SCAS

On Thursday, 18 September, a ceremony in honour of the four new Fellows of the Pro Futura Scientia
Programme was held at the Swedish Collegium. After a rigorous selection procedure, the four scholars
were selected in the early summer for this cutting-edge research programme, in the ninth admittance round
since the programme was initiated by SCAS and Riksbankens Jubileumsfond (the Swedish Foundation for
Humanities and Social Sciences; RJ) in 1999.

Three of the selected researchers - Angela Breitenbach (Philosophy, University of Cambridge), Elise
(History, Lund University; nominated by Umeå University) and Meelis Friedenthal (Theology
and History, University of Tartu) - were present in Uppsala for the ceremony and were awarded diplomas by
Professor Lorraine Daston (Director, Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin. Permanent
Fellow, Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Professor, Committee on Social Thought, University of Chicago). During
the ceremony, the new Pro Futura Fellows also gave short presentations of their research to the invited audience.
Stephanie Wynne-Jones (Archaeology, University of York; nominated by Uppsala University), the fourth selected
scholar, was regrettably not able to attend the event. Lorraine Daston concluded the ceremony with a lecture on
The Sciences of the Archive -- Or, The Pathos of Positivism

The invitation to nominate researchers for the next round, Pro Futura Scientia X, will be circulated to universities in Sweden and abroad shortly.

Read more:
Pro Futura Scientia History and Mission
Nominations and Selections
Pro Futura Scientia Fellows (1999-present)
The Pro Futura Scientia IX Fellows (in Swedish)
Four promising researchers have been admitted to the Pro Futura Scientia Programme (SCAS News - 4 June, 2014)