The Erik Allardt Fellowship Programme

About the Programme and the Eligibility Criteria
The purpose of the Erik Allardt Fellowship Programme is to further and strengthen academic and
cultural exchanges between Sweden and Finland within a context of high quality research in the
social and human sciences. The programme was created by Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies
(HCAS) and the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS). It is funded by Stiftelsen Riks-
bankens Jubileumsfond.

The information below pertains to the Erik Allardt Fellowship at SCAS. For information on the Erik
Allardt Fellowship at HCAS for scholars having an affiliation with a university in Sweden, please see

The Erik Allardt Fellowship at SCAS is a residential fellowship for scholars with a tenured or long-term
position in Finland. Candidates may come from any discipline within the humanities and social sciences
and neighbouring scholarly fields. Early career as well as senior scholars are welcome to apply. Candidates
must be at least three years beyond their doctoral degree by the time of application.

The application may be for the entire academic year or alternatively for one academic semester. For the
academic year 2019–20, the Swedish Collegium offers residential fellowships for one or two scholars
with a tenured or long-term position in Finland.

The holder of the fellowship receives a monthly stipend, the size of which will be decided after consultation
with the applicant and a consideration of relevant circumstances. Costs for housing and lunches are also

Application and Deadline
The Call for Applications for the academic year 2019/20 is now open.
The deadline for applications is on 15 October 2018.

An applicant should submit a curriculum vitae (4 pages maximum); a research proposal (5 to 10 pages);
a list of publications; three articles, including a brief rationale for selecting the articles (100 words
maximum per article). Applicants may also submit up to 3 letters of reference.

Final selections are made by the Principal of SCAS on the recommendation of the programme selection
committee. As part of the selection process, applications may also be sent to external referees. This means
that applications (including personal data) may be sent to external referees outside of the EU/EEA.

Selection Committee:

Professor Tuomas Forsberg, Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies
Professor Christina Garsten, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study
Professor Björn Wittrock, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study