Nominations and Selections

The information about nominations and selections was accurate as of June 2022.

Since 1999 Swedish universities have been invited to nominate their most promising researchers for the
Pro Futura Scientia Programme. In recent years, they have also been encouraged to nominate researchers
from other countries but with an intended association with the nominating university. Each university may
nominate up to four candidates, two of whom must come from another university in Sweden or abroad.
After a rigorous selection procedure, some 15 per cent of the nominees are admitted to the programme.

The call for nominations for Pro Futura XVII was circulated in September 2021, with the deadline for proposals
in December. The final decisions were made in June 2022, and the researchers will commence their initial period
in the programme in July 2023.

Pro Futura Scientia Committee:

Professor Bruce G. Carruthers, Northwestern University
Professor Linda Colley, Princeton University
Professor Steven Connor, University of Cambridge
Professor Karen S. Cook, Stanford University
Professor Christina Garsten, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (Chair)
Professor Marianne Gullberg, Lund University
Professor Sverker Sörlin, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Professor Folke Tersman, Uppsala University
Professor Alisse Waterston, City University of New York
Professor Michael John Watts, University of California, Berkeley