SCAS News - 15 January, 2021

30 Promising Scholars Nominated to the Pro Futura Scientia XVI Fellowships

By the end of the autumn semester, another successful nomination round for the Pro Futura
Scientia Programme could be summarized. For this round – the sixteenth since the inception
of the programme in 1999 – a total of 30 nominations were received from seventeen universities
in four countries. Fourteen universities across Sweden – from Umeå in the north to Malmö in
the south - as well as universities in Denmark, Estonia and Finland proposed candidates, and
some universities even took the opportunity to nominate the maximum number of four candidates

Among the scholars competing for the attractive Fellowships are 16 women and 14 men. As
usual, the research foci represented by the nominees are found within a wide range of disciplines
within the humanities and social sciences.

The nominating universities are being encouraged to propose researchers not only from their
own university but also from other universities in Sweden and abroad, but with an intended future
association with the nominating university. This year, approximately 23% of the nominees have
affiliations also to other universities/organisations than the universities nominating them. The
additional affiliations are found in Australia, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Sweden and the US.

The extensive selection process will be carried out in two steps during the spring semester, with
final results expected to be announced in the early summer of 2021.

The Pro Futura Scientia Programme for early career scholars, set up in 1999 by the Swedish
Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS) and Riksbankens Jubileumsfond (RJ), aims at providing
optimal conditions for promising scholars in the humanities and social sciences and to give them
the chance to pursue curiosity-driven research. More than 60 scholars have been enrolled in the
programme since the start.

Read more: Pro Futura Scientia History and Mission

Read more: Nominations and Selections

Read more: Pro Futura Scientia Fellows (1999 - present)